Follow us: Facebook Twitter RSS
Menu Search
Breaking news
Home Community New Constitutional Court Judges Sworn In


Add comment

New Constitutional Court Judges Sworn In

Image: parliament.bg

he four newly elected Constitutional  Court judges  were sworn in on Tuesday. The oath-taking ceremony was attended by National Assembly Chairperson Tsveta Karayancheva, President Rumen Radev, and the presidents of the Supreme Cassation Court and of the Supreme Administrative Court, Lozan Panov and Georgi Cholakov, respectively.
The composition of the Constitutional Court was thus complemented with two judges elected by the Judiciary: Pavlina Panova and Nadezhda Djelepova, and one judge each nominated by Parliament and the President, Krassimir Vlahov and Atanas Semov, respectively. After the ceremony President Radev told reporters that the prosecuting magistracy's decision to start a check into a refusal to open an investigation against Semov is politically motivated. The refusal concerned a tip-off in 2015 about suspected irregularities in an international master's programme Semov headed at  Sofia University.
Commenting a proposal by MPs from the ruling GERB party to hold a meeting with him to discuss changes in the mandatory motor third party liability insurance, Radev said that as an institution the Presidency is at the end of the legislative process.
Radev said that earlier on Tuesday he vetoed the Corporate Income Tax Act and did so now so as to allow the problem-free passage of the 2019 budget.

Comments (0)

No comments.

Add comment